The Beatitudes

Carl Heinrich Bloch, The Sermon on the Mount, 1877, oil on copper, 41" x 36"

The best part of the New Testament is the Sermon on the Mount (IMHO), which begins with the eight Beatitudes, statements on the meaning of spiritual victory. I'll post here in honor of the Pope, a man who seems to embody the spirit of Christianity.

Chapter 5 of Matthew begins:
Now when he saw the crowds, he went up on a mountainside and sat down. His disciples came to Him, and He began to teach them, saying:
Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst after righteousness, for they will be filled.

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall be shown mercy.

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called the sons of God.

Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.


Popular Posts